Posted on

Faith-that-sun-keeps-rising.jpg

This is by far the most difficult decision I’ve had to make. I’m sure we all have made sacrifices in our lifetime. The biggest sacrifice I know of was by a man named Jesus. He gave his life so we can have eternal life.  

Of course there are many simple sacrifices we make every day. Most, if not all, parents would give their life for their child. What is the biggest sacrifice you’ve made?

ALS has stolen a lot from my life and my family.  It has affected every person in my family. It has produced tears and fears and changed all of our lives in different ways. 

This monster is sinking its teeth even further right now. Due to progression and financials, but mainly how this is affecting my younger kids I’ve made the decision to move into an assisted living center. I have done everything possible to be home with my family, but there has always been two things that worry me the most . My children watching me go through the dying process, and secondly, leaving them bankrupt from the financial burden ALS puts on the family. 

Obviously, this was never part of my plan, but it showed me that someone else has plan for me. Most people with ALS pass within two to five years. I’m in my ninth year and somehow I’m still making a difference in the lives of others. Being a father is the most rewarding job I’ve ever had. I’ve been lucky enough to be home everyday as they come back from school, we have time to talk and laugh about things that happened that day. I will miss that the most. I don’t think they fully understand why I’m doing this. One day they will realize it was done because of my love for them.

So now we start another new chapter. There are no guarantees about how this will play out. My hope is that my children will continue to grow and understand how much their parents love them , and how much Jesus loves them, as well. What I do know is that I still have the passion to fight this battle. I know I wouldn’t be here without the prayers and help of so many people. I will continue to ask for the same kind of support as I take on this change with all the new surroundings. 

So as we live through this sacrifice that we were forced to address, I hope to not only receive your prays and love for my family, but that it also causes you to reflect on choices that you have had to make or will have to make. The sacrifice is not the end of a path – it’s a change in direction your life’s journey has in store for you.

Leave a comment